All in regards to epilepsy care at Mayo

Archive for September 16, 2015

Struggleville

image

In Struggleville.

Which isn’t total disaster. A struggle means you are trying to actually get somewhere with it, some sort of progress. When you are just suffering, you can call that baby suffer-ville, end of the road, darkness, just name it- when there is no answer starting to grow on the horizon, it is suffering endless skies. Irony is, today was the date I came in for seizure study #2 to start my new walk to my 2nd brain surgery-way back in 2004. Type of struggle… Had answers and hope. 

Thats basically the adjective difference between Mayo in Phoenix I’ve gone to over 13 years, and it’s ” sister ” property around the corner from us in Jacksonville, FL….. Phoenix has yes a Struggleville to go thru, yet it’s on a horizon of hope. As where Jacksonville just leaves you suffering, and hopeless, completely in the dark with promised call backs that never returned. To actually know that by memory, but then fly out instantly and see first hand from all of my doctors, it was quite the awakening of what that Mayo doesn’t have in store for me, actually, for many.

This one in on the ball. They don’t let things freak them out like me having epilepsy- to steer a migraine medication attack away. They still attack it, just more calmly, and on video, in case I do seize, they have all precautions to stop that in the middle. They watch over the patient that may have a wild reaction to medication, but don’t just give them a medication that could be risky for seizures then send them off their property. Mayo in Phoenix cares that their patient stays well. They love you as their patient, but really don’t want to see you TOO often than needed.

This has been one wild roller coaster ride for me. I’m at the point I can eat again. But my head hurts from my neck/occipital nerve pain- which that also shoots pain into my ears. Just wild. Calmer sadly to say than when I first got here… But it is something I sure am praying dissipates.

I am trying to get off of all anti seizure meds and go on one. Never thought I’d try this one in my lifetime again. I had bad history with it, bad life going on with it, just a full blown nightmare I was living when we first attempted it. We will see how it goes. I am so sensitive to everything. I feel for the docs when I walk in their office here. But God has to have some unique plan still brewing, somewhere … About something, or I wouldn’t have been able to hang on so tight.

Gracious to all your prayers….

Hetty/Heather Siebens

480-717-0609

Facebook.com/AliveinMe

twitter.com/AliveinMe

believe2shine.com

IMG_3881

Thank you Dr. Vargas, Dr. Drazkowski, Dr. Stonnington, and Dr. C….. All the Mayo System nurses, food, cleaning etc team… You all make this part of life bearable.

Joshua 1:9 “Be strong and courageous. Do NOT be afraid; do NOT be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

My Home Away From Home in Phoenix from Hetty Siebens on Vimeo.